My New Year’s Wellsolutions: A healthy approach to 2017 goal setting

My New Year's Wellsolutions: A healthy approach to 2017 goal setting

When it comes to this time of reflections and resolutions, I want to offer up an idea. . . 

What if you skipped the external “to-dos” and focused solely on yourself? What if your resolutions became health and wellness goals that made all the other goals in your life feel doable? What if you looked at this list of your New Year’s Wellsolutions and took steps every day to feeling like your best you, inside and out? Let’s make it a Happy You Year.

And let’s just get this out of the way, this is not a “New Year, New You” thing.

happy-you-year-at-thrive

New year, new you? Not at Thrive. We think the “old” you is pretty great already.

I don’t want to be a new me. I’ve grown rather fond of me over these last few decades (maybe a little less fond of the me in my 20s, but that’s another story for another time). I wouldn’t mind being an improved me… maybe a little stronger mentally and physically, perhaps ditching some of my stale ways of thinking and adding some healthy behaviors into the mix. The idea of waking every day feeling renewed sounds good to me, but the idea of being a new me doesn’t sit well. Can we all agree to accept ourselves as we are and love ourselves enough to put wellness and self-care at the top of our list for 2017? Yeah? OK, good.

Work in a upward spiral.

It’s no surprise that losing weight is one of the most popular resolutions every year. And it’s also not surprising that it’s the one goal that when not hit, leads to more self-loathing and disappointment. It’s time to break the cycle of setting ourselves up for failure.

upward-spirals-at-thrive

Take your New Year’s Wellsolutions one step up at a time.

When we make our New Year’s Wellsolutions and commit to a Happy You Year, we do little things every day that make us feel a little better, have more energy, want to move more, eat healthier, and treat ourselves with love. Each healthy behavior leads to the next, and before we know it, we are reshaping patterns that will get us to our goals. This, my friends, is an upward spiral; the wellness snowball effect.

Want to lose weight? Focus on your health, not the scale.

Take one step at a time.

If your goal was to climb Mount Everest, you wouldn’t strap on your boots and head to the Himalayans on day one, would you? You’d start small, maybe do some daily walking or hit the local trails. Take this same approach with your Wellsolutions. Don’t commit to 30 minutes of meditation, a complete diet overhaul, and daily yoga right out of the gate.

How about leading into it with a simple commitment to reconnect with your body? In my experience, a nice, quiet session in the full spectrum infrared sauna spa at Thrive Massage & Wellness is about as close to 30 minutes of meditation that I’m going to get right now. Its deep penetrating heat calms my nerves and racing mind. When I follow that up with a full hour of deep tissue massage from one of Thrive’s skilled massage therapists, my body feels strong and able. And after a good night’s rest (another killer side effect of the body work and heat therapy), I actually have the desire to move my body the next morning. This inspires me to feed it foods that make me feel good (the upward spiral in action).

Just take the first right step. And then the next one.

Leave a Reply

