My second visit to Thrive Massage & Wellness: Post-Holiday Detox

My second visit to Thrive Massage & Wellness: Post-Holiday Detox

Getting your glow back after overindulging

thrive-infrared-spa-ready

My oasis awaits!

This Thanksgiving holiday was a little more hectic than usual with family coming in from the east and west coasts at different times… blended families aren’t for the faint of heart. It’s all worth it in the end, but it takes a little longer to recover. I ate and drank things I shouldn’t have, slept too little, and just

treated my temple poorly in general. As such, I looked forward to another visit to Thrive Massage & Wellness in Gahanna. I knew a little time in one of their Sunlighten® Infrared Spas would help me get back on track.

After talking to Steven at the front desk, I decided to do the cardiovascular program again. It’s the longest of the sessions and includes near-, mid-, and far-infrared waves. I was a little worried about doing a 45-minute “cardio session” thinking I would feel like I had just run a 10k, but he assured me I would come out rested and ready for the rest of my day (which included teaching two yoga classes that evening).

Just being surrounded by all things Thrive was relaxing

thrive-common-area

Isn’t this gorgeous?

From the lobby to the changing room, I took in the new décor since my last visit. Local retail offerings, beautiful area rugs, updates to the changing room…Thrive feels very upscale with a clean, modern look.

Steven had the spa all set up for me. Once I changed into my robe and slippers, all I had to do was enter the spa and push start. Since this program was 45-minutes long, I took a notepad and my phone in with me to prep for my yoga classes that evening. Seriously, I worked while I was burning calories, strengthening my heart and detoxing my body. A girl could get used to this.

Thrive’s full-body sweat felt great

infrared-spa-+-hromatherapy-at-Thrive

Just seeing this photo makes me feel warm and toasty all over again

The owner, Susan, had mentioned to me before that after a session or two your body starts to recognize what’s happening and starts to sweat sooner. So true! I think I noticed it about 5 minutes in. And this is a full body sweat – from my head to my toes. Again, I marveled at the fact that this sweat is not generated from any steam inside the spa; it’s all me. There’s something so rejuvenating picturing all of the toxins just leaving your system this way.

Something else occurred to me. I had recently been discussing how yoga detoxes the body with some of my fellow yogis. We know that increased circulation improves cellular function, and we understand that part of the cell’s function is to move waste out of the body. We can then conclude that detoxification – moving waste and toxins out of the body – is improved with increased circulation. Much like a physical yoga asana practice, this cardiovascular program in the spa raises the core body temperature and increases circulation throughout the body. Hello, healthy short cut.

Alas, my infrared sauna was over much too soon

Thrive-locker-room

Even the changing room is pristine

Unlike running a 10k, the time flew by in the infrared sauna. The 45 minutes were up and, while I could have stayed in there much longer, I felt energized and ready to tackle the rest of my day. Once back in the changing room, I noticed a newfound radiance to my skin; a nice rosy glow that had been missing from my tired, post-holiday face. Just knowing my skin looked better, I felt better. Inner and outer wellness back in check I left the spa, but I’m already looking forward to my next visit to Thrive Massage & Wellness.

Thrive Massage & Wellness

4955 N Hamilton Rd

Columbus, OH  43230

(614) 473-1000

https://thrivemassageandwellness.com/

Leave a Reply

